The Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) is a committee of the Academic Senate housed in the College of Letters & Science. The FEC's responsibilities include:

  • Coordinating the academic affairs of the college and overseeing the welfare of its students.

  • Opining on curricular issues and policy matters affecting the faculty and students of the college.

  • Authority over new courses, course revisions, and minor changes to degree programs (majors and minors).

  • Reviewing significant changes to degree programs and the creation of new academic programs.


FEC members are elected by their faculty peers for a term of three years. Two faculty represent each of the college's three divisions.

Social Sciences

Mathematical, Life and Physical Sciences

Humanities and Fine Arts

The Executive Dean and the Dean of Undergraduate Education of the College of Letters & Science serve as ex-officio members. Undergraduate and graduate student representatives hold non-voting positions on the committee.

For questions about FEC meetings or membership, contact Assistant Dean Barbara Gilkes.


Meetings are Thursdays, 2-4 pm


FEC Meeting Dates 2018-19:

  • Sept. 27
  • Oct. 11
  • Oct. 25
  • Nov. 8
  • Nov. 29
  • Jan. 17
  • Jan. 31
  • Feb. 14
  • Feb. 28
  • March 14

*spring quarter dates TBD



for Faculty Executive Committee bylaws, click here