Six UCSB Professors are Named 2017 AAAS Fellows


The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) — the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of numerous prestigious journals, including Science — has named six UC Santa Barbara professors among its new fellows for 2017.

The newly elected fellows from UCSB are:

Keith Clarke, a professor of geography, for distinguished contributions to the field of spatial analysis in geography..

Noah Friedkin, a professor of sociology, for distinguished contributions to mathematical sociology.

Kenneth S. Kosik, Harriman Professor of Neuroscience and co-director of UCSB’s Neuroscience Research Institute, for distinguished contributions to molecular and cellular neuroscience.

Diane Mackie, a professor of psychology, for distinguished contributions to the study of intergroup relations.

Brenda Major, a professor of psychology, for distinguished contributions to research on the effects of discrimination and stigma, the potential for psychological resilience and for her leadership within social psychology.

Denise Montell, Duggan Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, for pioneering contributions to understanding molecular mechanisms of collective cell migration and cell survival in normal development and cancer.

News Date: 

Monday, November 20, 2017