News Highlights


Aug 6
The Arthur N. Rupe Great Debate Series explores contemporary societal issues of national or international significance through the examination of divergent viewpoints presented by leading figures and argued in a scholarly format. Suggestions are now being solicited for which vital question might be taken up at the Spring 2019 Rupe Debate and which debaters could best represent divergent opinions. 
A list of previous Rupe Great Debate topics and panelists is available here. More information about the debate format is available here. Please email your suggestions for possible debate topics and speakers to IHC Director Susan Derwin at by August 31, 2018.
Aug 2
Dan Korman, a professor of philosophy at UC Santa Barbara, has won the Marc Sanders Prize in Metaethics for his paper, “Against Minimalist Responses to Moral Debunking Arguments.”
Korman and his co-author Dustin Locke, an associate professor of philosophy at Claremont McKenna College, split the $10,000 prize, and their paper will appear in Oxford Studies in Metaethics, with a publication date of summer 2020.
Jul 18
Wade Clark Roof, an emeritus professor in UC Santa Barbara’s Department of Religious Studies, has received a lifetime achievement award from the Association for the Sociology of Religion (ASR). The award, given annually, recognizes major intellectual contributions as well as contributions through service, mentoring and teaching. 


Roof is perhaps best known as one of the leading national voices on the baby boomer generation and on questions of religious pluralism. He also was instrumental in the founding of UCSB’s Walter H. Capps Center for the Study of Ethics, Religion and Public Life, where he served as director for 15 years.
Jun 22
HispaUSA, an association of Chicano literature scholars in the United States and Spain, where it is based, has presented Francisco Lomelí with the Luis Leal Award “for his inestimable contribution to the recognition of Hispanic culture in the United States.”
Lomelí, a professor of Chicano studies and of Spanish and Portuguese, accepted the award in Salamanca, Spain. Leal, one of the most celebrated scholars of Chicano and Latin American literature, taught at UCSB from 1976 to 2006.
Jun 14
Professor Jeffrey Stewart, of the Department of Black Studies, is the recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research. He has been recognized for his sustained commitment to developing and showcasing undergraduate research. 
Additionally, two College of Letters & Science students, Victoria Melgarejo and Joseph Heide, have also been recognized for their outstanding contributions to undergraduate research at UC Santa Barbara.